Review of Epcot’s Food & Wine Festival 2016

Hello Mouseketeers!

Today I am going to give you the inside scoop on my visit to Epcot’s Food & Wine Festival. I got a wide array of foods to try in order to give you an insight into what the park had to offer this year for the event! So you ready to travel the world through food? Grab your Passport and a fork because here we go!

IMG_4986.jpg

There is nothing better to me than trying foods from different cultures! With one bite you are instantly transported to another country! You are introduced to the flavors the country embraces, the smells that embody the country, and the uniqueness the country evokes. So what countries did I visit and explore today? I got my passport stamped in Brazil, Morocco, Africa, and a Collective from the CHEW.

First stop, BRAZIL!

In Brazil I ordered what is known as Pao de Queijo. What does that mean in English? Brazilian Cheese Bread! These are sent from heaven! If you like cheese and you like bread then you will LOVE these! I have had these before and in fact have even made them! What is special about them is that they are made without gluten! It is a great option for those who cannot eat gluten. When I have made them, I have used tapioca flour; however, I am not sure what type of flour Epcot uses to make these magnificent balls of cheesy goodness! When you bite into it you discover that the cheese has in fact melted and been incorporated within the bread! It is ooey and gooey and really a cheesy dream come true! These are a must buy!

IMG_4977.jpg                             IMG_4976.jpg

Next up, MOROCCO!

I am in love with Morocco! It is definitely a country that is on my list of places I want to travel in real life! However, Epcot Morocco is still pretty amazing! You walk around and are transported to the markets and bazaars that the country offers. The food is my culinary fantasy come to life! I was tempted to buy all three options! I had to make the tough decision between a Kefta Pocket, Spicy Hummus Fries, and Chocolate Baklava! Hardest decision of the week! I ended up getting the Spicy Hummus Fries, as I have heard a lot about these!

IMG_4984.jpg

Look at how amazing it looks! One tip to keep in mind: DO NOT underestimate the portion size that Epcot offers you! I received my order and thought to myself “This is all I get! Why oh why!”. But by golly this was so filling and really the perfect size because I ate other foods as well! These taste like you are eating a falafel dipped in hummus all encompassed in one glorious bite! There is a little kick to them as well so you get a bit of spice! DEEELICIOUS!

Hold on tight because we are off to AFRICA!

African food has recently become my addiction! Whenever I cook at home I tend to be inspired by the flavors and spices of Africa. So if I’m cooking, you for sure know you are getting the taste of Africa! Epcot Africa did not disappoint!IMG_4989.jpg

The butter chicken was simply incredible! The amount of flavor packed into the little dish I received blew me away! They even used chicken thighs to add even more delicious flavors to the dish! Think of a wonderful chicken stew with tons of spices that blend beautifully together to create a harmonious symphony!

Where did I head next?

The Collective from the Chew! The Food & Wine Festival offers unique booths that do not strictly embody a country. Such as The Collective from the Chew! Here I decided to get some dessert! Some sugar was much needed at this part in my food travels. What dessert did I choose? Peanut Butter & White Chocolate Mousse with a Caramel Drizzle! Now I know what you may be thinking, “Mousse? Why in the world would you choose mousse?” To be completely honest, mousse is one of my top favorite desserts! It is a heavenly bite of fluffy, smooth, creamy, wonderful deliciousness. Open up your mind to the glory that awaits you when you eat mousse! Now my love for mousse is HIGH! When I got my little mousse shot I was so excited that I almost forgot to take a picture of it.

IMG_4992.jpgHowever, one bite into it I realized they had made the worst mistake one could ever make when creating desserts. What mistake is that awful and horrid?! It is adding small crunchy things to something that is meant to be smooth. Case in point my glorious mousse with small crunchy unnecessary and more importantly unwanted peanuts in it. Every bite was ruined by these obstacles. Please if you are reading this NEVER COMMIT THIS BAKING CRIME! The mousse was good, the peanuts on the other hand definitely needed to go!

Peace, Love, & Pixie Dust,

Haley

Leave a Reply

