DIY Tassel Wall

Hello Fellow DIY-ers!

As many of you know, I currently live in a dorm on my campus (Southeastern University). Decorating in a dorm space is one of the most exciting and frustrating things I have done. I IMG_6359absolutely love to fill my space with things that remind me of family, fun times, and at the same time make the room feel cozy. At the same time, creating in a small space can have its challenges. As semesters fly by, I feel more confident that my space not only reflects my personality, but is also a place that I can unwind and feel at home in. It is my own personal space that I can dream, study (eww), and hang with friends. When I got back to campus after Christmas break, I was completely shocked at the state of my room. It was functional, but needed some serious renovations and re-styling. That is where the DIY Tassel Wall came in!  Keep reading for this fun, easy, and super-cute DIY.

This DIY tassel wall is simple to create and definitely will help fill any empty spaces in your room. After re-arranging my room, I ended up with a blank wall. The empty wall looked like the most unwanted and boring thing I’ve ever beheld. Thus, I set out to change that ASAP. It needed a friend or something to hold onto…I’m not really good at wall humor…

Anyways onto the Tassel Wall. Here is a list of what you will need!IMG_5876

  • Yarn (3-4 different colors=preferably colors that go together)
  • Twine
  • A wooden dowel (whatever size works best for you)
  • A medium sized book
  • Scissors

Tips when you get your supplies:

  • Look for coupons and use them!
  • I headed to Michaels and was able to use 2 coupons! Keep this in mind that they allow you to use more than one coupon!
  • Choose yarn colors that matches the theme of your room or colors you will not mind seeing every single day. Decisions are hard once you enter into the yarn aisle, so come prepared.

The Project

  1. Lay out all of your supplies
  2. I used 3 colors of yarn, but if you want to use more go ahead and use more colors!
  3. Take your medium sized book and wrap your yarn (longways) around it about 20-30 IMG_5879times. This determines the thickness of your tassels. If you want thicker tassels, wrap it around more times. If you want thinner tassels, wrap it around less times. I did about 22 for two of my colors and 30 times for one color (as the yarn was thin).
  4. After wrapping, go ahead and cut your yarn in the middle. This will form your tassel.
  5. Lay your tassel on a surface or hold it by the top.
  6. Cut your twine. Again length on your twine is up to you. I wanted varied lengths, so I would cut one longer and then the next one shorter and the next one in between. But again, it is up to you

    IMG_5883

    Twine tied underneath

  7. Then take your twine and tie it underneath the top. (see picture)
  8. Cut a short piece of twine (2 inches) and wrap it around the top of the tassel. Tie it off and cut off the excess twine.

    IMG_5885

    Twine wrapped around

  9. CONGRATULATIONS! You’ve made a tassel. Continue the steps until you have as many tassels as desired.
  10. When you are completed with making your tassels, simply take the end of your twine and tie IMG_5880it to the dowel. Again length and how you want the tassels to fall is up to you! Be creative!
  11. My dowel allowed for a lot of tassels, so don’t be scared to push the tassels together! A lot can fit on it!
  12. The last step is to hang it up. You can use a nail, hooks, or place it so it rests on tacks. The choice is up to you!

Disclaimer: A lot of this project is open to creativity and personal taste. Thus, have fun with it. Create a piece that is unique and a piece that you love. In order to give credit where credit is due, I saw this idea on Pinterest and simply had to create my own. I am no expert and these tips and steps is not THE way to go. There are a lot of great people out there who have created them too, so do some research and create!

Have fun and feel free to ask any questions or send pictures of your completed work!

IMG_6358

Peace, love, and happy Crafting,

Haley

Leave a Reply

