On the List.

Hello Fellow Bakers,

Today’s post is a bit different than usual. Rather than a great recipe or a story, I decided to share with you the cookbooks that are on my MUST BUY list. These are cookbooks of people I have been following, am obsessed with, or greatly admire. All are reasonably affordable, which is great because who wants to spend $40+ on a cookbook…certainly not me. Without further ado here are the cookbooks that need to make it on your list right now!

  1. Momofuku Milk Bar

This one is #1 on my list. In fact, in my spare time I  head over to the nearest bookstore Momofuku-Milk-Bar-Cookbook-Coverjust to take this book off the shelf and read it from cover to cover. It is impressive. It is intimidating. It is everything and more. Now if you do not know what Momofuku is and do not even know what Milk Bar is…then it may be hard for you and I to be friends (just kidding). Seriously go look it up! I feel as if I am always telling you great things in the food world to discover-I guess I have lots of golden nuggets to share! Anyways, Milk Bar is this innovative, genius, and creative bakery run by the one and only Christina Tossi. I have recently become obsessed with the woman. She is fearless. She takes risks. She thinks outside the box. And she does it with such grace. Seriously one of my role models in life. That being said, Tossi invites us into her world, Milk Bar, and shares recipes and stories. To be even given the recipes of Tossi seems like an honor. So let us just say this one should be handled with the utmost care and love. If you are looking for a cookbook that is unconventional, creative, and full of recipes that will seriously blow your fellow mates away then this is the one for you!

2. Milk Bar Life: Recipes and Stories

You may be rolling your eyes at this point when you notice that yes this is another milk-bar-life.031a8e5d059a953649d945c55cac586a.pngcookbook surrounded the world and life of Milk Bar. Didn’t I tell you I was obsessed. Now this lovely cookbook became my summer buddy thanks to the help of my local library. I would recheck this sucker over and over and over. If someone else wanted to check it out, they did not stand a chance because it was in my capable hands all summer. The library should have just given it to me (this was my secret wish). Moving right along, this book allows you to be a fly on the wall in Milk Bar to experience and witness the heart and soul of Milk Bar. Tossi throws in some of her own recipes that she puts together outside of Milk Bar and they are fun and they are interesting to say the least. Not only is this cookbook full of great recipes, it is full of great stories. It reads well and teaches you well. It needs to be on your list.

3. Alton Brown: Everyday Cook

If you do not know of Alton Brown, then you have a lot to catch up on. I remember Unknownwatching his show and being mesmerized and amused at the art of cooking. Alton has a way of breaking things down into the tiniest microscopic detail, all the while instilling within you a greater sense of culinary wisdom. I think of him as the cooking professor. A wacky one and an unconventional one for sure, but one who knows a whole lot (seriously this dude knows everything) and is willing to pass that wisdom down to others. This cookbook is interesting because it is food that he cooks on the regular. It is also unique because all the pictures in the book are shot with an iPhone. Intrigued? Good.

4. Half Baked Harvest Cookbook: Recipes from My Barn in the Mountains

Tieghan Gerard. Another food role model in my life. I follow her blog religiously. All the Unknown-1food I make at home are her recipes or inspirations from her. She thinks outside of the box. She creates flavor combinations that will blow you away. All of her recipes turn out every single time. Without fail. And they are sooooo delicious! Remember the best cookies in the world that I shared with you the other day (here ), yep they were from her. Let us just say that if you want to step up your food game, you need to get this cookbook. All of the best recipes out there in one book. And another cookbook is on the way. So get this one now and get ready for the next!

 

If you have a cookbook that I need to add to my list please let me know in the comments! I am always open to suggestions!

 

Peace, Love, and Cookbook buying,

Haley

Leave a Reply

