Matcha Cookies

Hello Fellow Bakers!

The cookie obsession continues…and so does the matcha obsession…

I cannot get enough of cookies right now. There is something to be said of the humble cookie. It never disappoints. These cookies I am going to share with you today are the perfect new addition to your cookie jar.

Not only are they a cookie=WIN!

but… they have matcha in them= DOUBLE WIN!!

Two things that I am currently obsessed with and loving! Could it get any better!? Now if you are not familiar with matcha, it is a very caffeinated green tea that usually is in powder form. Matcha also has health benefits. Such as: high in antioxidants, boosts memory and concentration, increases energy levels, detoxifies, boosts the immune system…need I go on?

So if you are a little hesitant of baking this recipe because you do not want the calories that come with the cookies…know that these have HEALTH benefits. Sure it’s a cookie, but one that is good for you(?). I know I know, it is a stretch, but hey any excuse I can use to eat a cookie, I’m in!

This recipe is not my own (sigh). However, I did add my personal touches to it.

IMG_7868

  1. Prep tip: Set out all ingredients beforehand. This will save you from rummaging through the cabinets and pantry.IMG_7869
  2. I spilt flour all over my counters, floor, and myself…yes I amclumsy in the kitchen. Thus, I pulled out my handy dandyand LOVELY Dana’s Bakery apron! I felt so fancy and like apro baker. Grab yourself an apron and throw it on! It will boost your confidence for sure!
  3. I added a combo of white chocolate chips and semi-sweet chocolate chips. There is definitely more white chocolate chips in these, but I could not resist adding some semi-sweet chocolate in there as well.
  4. My favorite addition to this recipe is SPRINKLES! Can you ever go wrong by adding sprinkles? NEVER!! It adds something fun to the cookie (not that these are not fun on their own) and something that brings an additional pop of color!
  5. I baked these cookies A LOT  longer than the recipe called for. It could be due to the fact that I am still getting used to my apartment oven, but the recipe called for 8-10 minutes and I kept mine in for around 15-20 minutes. Quite a bit longer. I did keep an eagle eye on these cookies the whole baking time. My advice?  Set the timer for 9 minutes and if they are not ready, set the timer in increments of 3 minutes and keep on checking them. They should spread out and somewhat crackle on the top (see picture below).IMG_7881

Some things to know about this recipe.

  • There is more brown sugar in them than granulated sugar. This seemed a bit odd to me, but I know why now. The brown sugar makes the cookie have this great chewy bite to them. And just creates a great background taste to the cookies. It also helps balance out the matcha.
  • Melted butter. Yes, usually when you cream together butter and sugar the butter is softened NOT melted. However, in this batter it works out. So keep the faith.
  • Matcha. As said before the recipe includes matcha. I am IMG_7876comfortable baking with matcha, but I know for some, matcha is a new and odd ingredient to put into baked goods. Matcha is quite strong and sometimes can overpower things. But not in these cookies. The other ingredients perfectly balance out and pair nicely with the addition of the matcha. It is the perfect trial recipe for matcha, if you have any qualms about the ingredient. Tip on buying matcha: hit up TJMAXX/Marshalls/HomeGoods- usually in the food section they sell matcha. Get the organic matcha as when buying teas and spices it is very important to get organic (otherwise you are consuming sprayed teas and spices…EWWWW). The matcha sold at the trio of stores listed above will be significantly cheaper than going to say Teavanna or buying it in the grocery stores. Amazon is also a great place to buy matcha.
  • Vanilla extract. The recipe calls for a tablespoon of vanilla extract (insert shock face emoji). This in not needed. As you know extracts are concentrated. I added 2 1/4 teaspoons of vanilla extract and it did not affect the cookies at all. If you are scared of matcha, then go ahead and add the full tablespoon because it will for sure mask it. I know that using 2 1/4 teaspoons of vanilla is close to a tablespoon, but I just couldn’t bring myself to adding that much into my batter.
  • The dough will be just that a dough. The ingredients come together to form a soft dough ball.IMG_7874
  • Taste. The cookies remind me of a sugar cookie. But a matcha sugar cookie! So good so amazing! Will definitely be adding this recipe to my keepers!

Recipe for Matcha Cookies HERE!

IMG_7880

Peace, Love, and Happy Baking,

Haley

3 thoughts on “Matcha Cookies

  1. I’ve had the privilege of tasting these lovely little gems … and they don’t disappoint!!! I can’t wait to bake me up a batch soon!! Thanks for this awesome recipe, Haley! 🤗

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

